Municipal elections voting begins

Vote to 234 municipalities has begun nationwide in the morning today (Wednesday) with incidents of dissimilar irregularities as well as vote rigging, occupying polling center and ballot papers stuffing.

Voting ongoing at 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm.

This is the first election fight between the two most important political parties — Awami League and BNP – underneath the party banner after the 2008 general elections.

The election is being detained at 234 municipalities out of the total 323 across the country. Elections to the respite municipalities will be held later.

A total of 923 mayor hopefuls are fighting for the 234 posts in a supporter manner, while 8,589 councillor candidates for 3,700 posts and 2,533 candidates for women’s preserve seats in a non-partisan manner.

For the mayoral posts, BNP has 223 candidates, Jatiya Party 74, JSD 21, independent 285 and 108 applicants of other parties. In seven municipalities, Awami League candidates have been selected mayors unimpeded.

Rakibul Hasan

leave a comment

Related Post

Create Account

Log In Your Account